name the group of island lying in the arabian sea

(i) Lakshadweep in th Arabian sea, Andaman and
Nicobar in the Bay of Bengal.
(ii) Countries which make the Indian subcontinent are Pakistan
in the north-west, India at the core, Nepal in the north, Bhutan in
the north-east and Bangladesh in the east.
(iii) Tropic of Cancer passes through the states of Gujarat,
Rajasthan, Madhya Pradesh, Chhattisgarh, Jharkhand, West
Bengal, Tripura and Mizoram.
(iv) 37°6′ N
(v) 8°4′ N
(vi) Western longitude – 68°7′ E, Eastern longitude – 97°25′ E
(vii) Kanyakumari
(viii) The Palk Strait.
(ix) Andaman and Nicobar Islands, Chandigarh, Dadra and
Nagar Haveli and Daman and Diu, Delhi, Lakshadweep,
Puducherry (Pondicherry), Jammu& Kashmir , Laddakh.


  • After Sikkim, Lakshadweep is the next smallest populated place in India
  • Lakshadweep is India’s smallest Union Territory. (Our country Indian consists of 28 states and 8 union territories. Union territory is not an independent unit but is run by the administrators appointed by the President of India)
  • The Kavaratti is the capital of the Union Territory Lakshadweep in India
  • Lakshadweep is the island group of India that has coral origin
  • They are considered as kind of coral reefs that are known as Atolls which are circular or horseshoe-shaped reefs.
  • Lakshadweep is an archipelago of 36 islands, scattered over approximately 78,000 square km of the Arabian Sea, 200-440 km off the south-western coast of India
  • The population in this island is approximately 65,000

Leave a Comment

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *